Meet the 2016 International Jury Committee

Judging for the Saint-Gobain Gypsum International Trophy is a demanding and challenging process, which will take place in Paris from April 12th to 15th, 2016.

2016 Mar. 03

In order to ensure that all entries will be judged on an equitable basis, specific judging criteria were developed and the International Jury Committee was selected via a thorough process. 

The 10th Saint-Gobain Gypsum International Trophy Jury is comprised of 9 members, a mix of central experts and country delegates.

Central marketing jury members

Jury President - Romuald Lassagne, SG Gypsum Activity, Global Marketing Manager

Romuald has been in the building industry for 17 years and in the gypsum industry for 11 years. He is currently in charge of supporting the South East Asian businesses in their marketing activities, as well as being responsible for communications, branding and sustainability topics within the Activity. With a background in civil engineering, he previously worked as Marketing Communications Director for Placo in France and he has been a jury member since the 7th Saint-Gobain Gypsum International Trophy in 2010 held in Amsterdam.

Jury Member – Rupert Neumann, SG Gypsum Activity, Global Marketing Manager

Rupert has been in the building materials industry for 20 years. This is the sixth Saint-Gobain International trophy awards which he has been involved in and the fourth time on the Jury. In addition to other marketing roles and support for a number of countries, he is also responsible for the Global Product Management of Building Plasters and Plasterboard Finishing within the activity.

Jury Member – Ashutosh Puranik, SG Gypsum Activity, Global Product Manager

Ashutosh has been in the Gypsum industry for the last 10 years. He is currently in charge of developing a market segment approach for the Hospitality sector internationally, and for the Global Product Management of indoor air quality and lightweight boards within the activity. He has a diverse and in depth knowledge of the construction products industry, with the multi comfort approach being one of his key areas of interest and expertise. He has been instrumental in leading the National Trophy event in India since its inception in 2012.

Jury Member – Miles Ellison, SG Gypsum Activity, Global Product Marketing Manager

Miles joined the building industry as an architect working in the UK on commercial projects. He has been in the Gypsum industry for over 20 years in the technical specification and design market, as well as in key account rolls. He is currently in charge of specification development in the Gypsum Activity. BIM is a topic area that he is developing for the group. Miles has been involved in the Saint-Gobain International Trophy awards for the last four events, and this will be his third time on the Jury.

Country delegate jury members

Jury Member – Katrin Haslwanter, Rigips Austria, Marketing Manager Austria and EAR

Katrin has been working for Rigips Austria for over 20 years, first joining the company in November 1993. Previously Katrin worked for a publishing company, writing for the official textile magazine; the step from “fashion” to “building” was a successful one – starting out in the Communications division, Katrin went on to become Head of Marketing for Rigips Austria in 2008, managing several cross functional responsibilities for Austria and EAR for the dry lining and powder business. Katrin has been involved in the jury procedure since the premier of the Austrian National Trophy in 1998.

Jury Member – Ad Maas, Gyproc Netherlands, Manager Innovation & Technology

Ad joined Saint Gobain in March 1988 and started his career in research & technical services, previously having studied Building Technology at the Technical University in Eindhoven. Since 1991 he has been responsible for the technical department. He has an active role in various external technical committees and working groups. Ad has been a jury member several times for the National Trophy in the Netherlands, as well as for the International Trophy.

Jury Member – David Kehoe, British Gypsum, National Technical and training Representative

David is a professionally qualified plasterer with 18 years of experience in the Construction Industry, having worked on large dry lining projects as well as plastering projects. He has 9 years of experience in teaching the plastering qualifications at all levels in the NVQ/QCF Awards and the new construction Diploma Awards within further education Colleges in the UK. David is one of four individuals who judge the plastering and dry-lining competitions for Skillbuild UK and also helps to judge the team selection for UK world skills competitions. His responsibilities are to look after the college partnerships, Skillbuild UK as well as supporting the launch of new products and systems to market. This is David’s first time taking part in the International Trophy.

Jury Member – Atisha Gopichund-Lutchman, Head of Marketing Saint-Gobain, Gyproc

Atisha has been in the building industry for 17 years and started her Gypsum career almost ten years ago. She is a Green Star Accredited Professional for both the New build and Interiors rating tools of the Green Building Council of South Africa, and has served as Deputy Chief Expert for Plastering & Drywall on the global judging panel of the WorldSkills International Competition. In her current capacity as Head of Marketing she is responsible for the creation, communication and delivery of a unifying marketing strategy that also supports the objectives of the Sustainable Habitat strategy.  

Jury Member – Yves Benkemoun, Placo France, R&D&Innovation Director

Yves has been working for Placoplatre for 30 years, after having initially spent 5 years with Weber. He is currently R&D&Innovation Director after acquiring a strong background in Marketing, Quality, Process and Standardization (Chairman of CEN Technical Committee for Gypsum Products).

More news